Marvin Hamster Music Emporium – MH199

The Marvin Hamster Music Emporium is two hours of alternate music from the 80s and 90s brought to you by your Rodent of Retro.  The show is usually six sets of about 20 minutes.  Each set has a theme, or combination of songs, that fit together somehow.

I’m replaying MH199 because I got the Prince song 1999 stuck in my head this week.

Here is the set list for MH199…

Replacement Blonde Set
Radio Free Europe – REM
Alex Chilton – The Replacements
Come Anytime – The Hoodoo Gurus
God Is A Bullet – Concrete Blonde
Drive She Said – Stan Ridgway

Untouchable Madness Set
One Step Beyond – Madness
Belly Of The Whale – Burning Sensations
Free Yourself – The Untouchables
Mirror In The Bathroom – English Beat
Time Bomb – Rancid

Smashing Beethoven Set
1979 – Smashing Pumpkins
Jams Runs Free – Sonic Youth
Dig For Fire – Pixies
Borderline – Camper Van Beethoven
Love Vibration – Josh Rouse

1982 Techno Set
See You – Depeche Mode
Living On The Ceiling – Blancmange
I’m Your Money – Heaven 17
Bring Your Love Down (Didn’t I) – Yaz

Berlin Propaganda Set
Jet Town – SSQ
Masquerade – Berlin
Hesitation – Mya & The Mirror
Duel – Propaganda

Breakdown In Tears Set
Perpetual Dawn (Solar Youth Mix) – The Orb
No More Tears – The KLF
Breakdown (Radio Mix) – One Dove

You can get more information at There you can find out Marvin’s email address, Like him on Facebook (if you Like), listen to previous shows on Mixcloud, or subscribe to the podcast.

Author: Marty Kuhrt

Share This Post On
%d bloggers like this: